Skip to main content

News

Topic: Graphics (Read 183 times) previous topic - next topic

Graphics
Something I like to do is play around with Photoshop making graphics and such. Anyone else here like to dabble in that?

I used to frequent a message board company's message board, was even a moderator there for a time, and they had a board for graphic requests. I have done a ton of requests, some more challenging than others. But I'm no expert and I still have a lot to learn.

Since I developed an obsession with reading, I've tried my hand a few times at designing book covers and book graphics. I even had a design chosen by an author after she had a cover design contest on Facebook. So that was nice. :)

• The Boss
  • [*][*][*][*][*][*][*]
  • Administrator

Re: Graphics
Reply #1
I do, but not with Photoshop. I use paint.net which is a free software that's similar to Photoshop but with less of the bells and whistles that are unnecessary to me (although there are loads of plugins that can be downloaded to add more features to paint.net).

I'm far from mastering it, but I can get around in it okay. It's what I've used to make various graphics with that you see here, such as the title logo and putting together the ads for the promos and such.

I enjoy doing light projects like that and learning graphic design little by little that way.
Look what I can do with my sig.

This sig is so refreshing!

Can I bum a sig?

Other sig puns. Because it's a signature. Get it?

Reply #2
I'd used Paint Shop Pro for years before Photoshop.  A woman that I did some graphics work for gave me Photoshop and I haven't gone back to Paint Shop Pro since, except to do batch conversions on occasion.

I've never used Paint.net but I may just have to get it and play around with it a bit, see how it works. Looks like it works really well for you.

Reply #3