Skip to main content

News

Topic: Scrivener (Read 254 times) previous topic - next topic

• MiraDay
  • [*][*][*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator

Scrivener
Oh, Scrivener! How I love thee!

Seriously, love this program. I'm still a little new to it, though. Would love to really learn more tricks.

Anyone else use Scrivener and the magic it possesses?

Re: Scrivener
Reply #1
I love Scrivener! I use it solely to write my first draft and then transfer over to Word for editing and formatting. I'm a pantser and I write out of order so it's really helpful to keep all of my chapters separated. I also love how I can write little notes for each file so I know what those chapters are about. It helps keep me really organized. And when I finish a chapter I'll throw it into a folder I title "First Draft" so I can see what chapters still need to be finished and it won't be daunting to look at all of the chapters at once.
Author of the 🎵pop punk🎵 Marlowe series

• MiraDay
  • [*][*][*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator

Reply #2
Sounds like a good process to me, Alexandria!

I'm a pantser as well... which is why the organization of Scrivener helps.
  • Last Edit: May 11, 16, 12:49:38 PM by MiraDay

Reply #3
I go back and forth between Scrivener and Word. If I have a general idea about the story, I start in Scrivener b/c I love the organization capabilities. If I am brainstorming or free-writing, I go to Word. Editing -- always in Word. Then back to Scrivener for ebook publication (Word for print files). I also got Vellum recently, but I have yet to try it out. I plan to use it with a novella collection a group of us are working on because it's supposed to be a bit easier for formatting, graphics, etc.
I write stories focused on strong women and the men they choose.

Get Vibrant Heart, first in my Great Plains Romance series, free at your favorite e-book retailer

• MiraDay
  • [*][*][*][*][*][*][*]
  • Global Moderator

Reply #4